Applying for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License can be confusing. However, if you follow this Ohio CCW Application Checklist, you can make the process faster and easier.
1. Make sure you meet the basic requirements before applying for your Ohio Concealed Handgun License:
You must be at least 21 years of age to apply for the license. You make the class before you turn 21..
You must be an Ohio resident for at least 45 days.
You must be a resident of your home county for at least 30 days.
2. Schedule your class and complete the required 12-hour course to obtain your Certificate of Competency.
Your Certificate of Competency must be no more than 3 years old to qualify for a concealed handgun license. Note: Your concealed handgun license will be proof of training for your first license renewal.
3. Read the Attorney General's pamphlet on Ohio's concealed carry laws. You will get a printed copy during your training course.
4. Locate the sheriff's office in your county (or an adjacent county) and pick up an application for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License or go to the sheriff's or Attorney General's website and download the application. Note: The concealed carry manual you will receive in class has a copy of the application.
NOTE: If you go to pick up the application in person DO NOT bring a gun with you when picking up your application.
5. Have a passport-sized (2" x 2") color photo taken within 30 days of your application date. You may get a passport-sized photo at many photo shops, drug stores, groceries, and similar businesses that handle photo development. Most sheriff departments will also accept a good quality color photo taken with a digital camera and printed on a color printer.
6. Call the sheriff's office to make an appointment to apply for your license. Most sheriffs will NOT allow walk-ins to apply.
7. Take your documents to the sheriff's office and apply for your license. As part of your application, you must:
Present your completed application, Certificate of Competency (or documentation of equivalent experience), and passport-sized color photo.
Present a valid photo I.D., such as your driver's license.
Pass a criminal background check and mental competency check.
Submit to having your fingerprints electronically scanned or inked and rolled onto a card.
Attest that you have read the Attorney General's pamphlet on Ohio's concealed carry laws.
Pay a non-refundable fee by cash, money order, or certified check made payable to your sheriff's office.
NEW FEE SCHEDULE EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 16, 2009
$67.00 - New Applicant Ohio resident 5 years or more
$91.00 - New Applicant Ohio resident less than 5 years
$50.00 - Renewal Ohio resident 5 of more years
NOTE:DO NOT bring a firearm with you when applying for or picking up your license.
If you have ever been prohibited from having a weapon under ORC Section 2923.125, you must provide court documentation granting relief for disability.