Frequently Asked Questions
How do I register for a class?
On our schedule
page you can place a deposit or pay electronically using PayPal. If you'd rather register by phone, call (513) 322-2950. You can also let us know the class you would like to attend by completing this contact
form. If you register via phone or email you can pay in cash at the class.
Does taking the Basic Pistol class get me my Concealed Handgun License?
The NRA Basic Pistol Class, along with our concealed carry instruction fulfills the Ohio and Florida non-resident requirement for training necessary to apply for your Concealed Handgun License (CHL or CCW). At the end of the class you'll be given a certificate that you take to your local sheriff's office or mail to Florida. Your sheriff or Florida issues the license; we provide the training necessary to apply for your license.
Where are you located?
Our public classes are usually scheduled in the Mason area, which is convenient to Cincinnati and Dayton. We only offer 2-3 classes a month, so we teach at hotel conference rooms or your business/organization and or home. We shoot on private land and public ranges, depending on the class. When you sign up for a class you'll be sent directions and all you need for the day.
Why are your classes so inexpensive?
We do not do this to make money. We all have full-time day jobs. Teaching the Cincinnati NRA CHL / CCW class is a hobby for us. Many of the franchise operations in town rush through as many students as they can in order to make as much money as possible. We are more friendly and genuinely want you to learn about gun safety and the law regarding concealed handgun licenses. We want good people to get their licenses to carry because we really are all safer when more people are able to defend themselves. There really is safety in numbers. The world is a safer place when the good guys can stop the bad guys. You'll receive the same instruction, materials and attention (or more) as you would with the more expensive classes, but you will have more interaction with your instructor and with our smaller class sizes you will feel more open to ask questions.
Where do we shoot?
We typically shoot at a public (ODNR) covered range with a reserved section just for us. Some classes have a range fee (never more than $5).
What should I bring to Basic Pistol (CCW, CHL) class?
A notebook, a pen, your handgun (if you have one), at least 50 rounds of factory loaded ammo, and $5 range pass. The range outdoors (covered) so dress appropriately. When we break for lunch we will meet up again at the range. Leave your gun and ammunition locked in your car until you get to the range.
I don't have a gun - what ammo should I bring to use your guns?
If you use our guns we require that you use our ammo. We do not upcharge for this. What it costs us is what it will cost you. DO NOT BRING AMMO OR GUNS INTO THE CLASSROOM, LEAVE IT IN YOUR CAR
. Transport your gun according to Ohio law--locked up with ammo in a separate compartment. The best way to do this is put the gun in the trunk, in a locking box, and the ammo/magazine in your glove box.
I don't live in Ohio, but I want to carry in Ohio. How do I do that?
Ohio and Non-Resident Florida licenses are recognized in 32 states. Our NRA Basic Pistol class lets you apply for a Florida non-resident concealed carry license.
Are you qualified to teach the class?
All our instructors are NRA Certified and ex-Army infantry. The certificate issued at the end of the class is valid in every sheriff station in Ohio and Florida through the mail. If you fail to get your Concealed Carry License due to the class not meeting the requirements of Ohio or Florida law, your money will be refunded.
Where is the class held? How is the Basic Pistol class structured?
We usually hold classes over the course of one day for public classes. We start out at a classroom location, typically a public conference meeting space, car pool to the range, then go back to the classroom to finish up and take the written test.
Do you offer two-day classes for concealed carry?
We allow you to split your class over two days if you like. Typically this would be 8 AM - 2 PM the first Saturday and 2 PM - 8 PM the next Saturday class.
Are the Basic Pistol certificates you issue good anywhere in Ohio or Florida?
I'd like to bring my wife/husband/child to Basic Pistol, can I?
Yes. They would need to purchase their own range pass. If the class is not sold out they could sit in.
Do we get a break or do we sit there for the whole time?
We break for meals and about every hour.
Will it really take 12 hours for the Concealed Handgun (CHL or CCW) Class?
Yes. That's the law.
I have a physical disability, will that be a problem?
Please notify your instructor if you have special needs. The range and classroom are wheelchair accessible.
Can I use my .22 LR or is here a caliber limit for Basic Pistol?
Yes, you can use a .22. Any real handgun can be used.
How do I join the NRA?
You can join or renew for during the class for $25 ($10 discount!). You can also join or renew for the same savings by clicking here
I'm coming from out of town, what hotels are nearby?
Depends on the classroom location, but there's always a hotel near. Let us know and we'll help you make arrangements.
Where do I go to shoot after class to practice?
There are a lot of great gun ranges in the Cincinnati area, but our favorite public range (doesn't require membership) is Spring Valley in Waynesville. Let us know if you want directions. If you're talking private, there's a long list, but you have to be a member or go with a member.
Where can I read more about the Ohio CHL?
You can download the Ohio Concealed Carry Laws Manual
that is issued by the Ohio Attorney General. It is this office that runs the program for Ohio.
Where can I read more about the Florida CHL?
You can visit the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
. This is the office that administers the program for the state of Florida. If you obtained the Florida non-resident ccw license you would then be able to carry concealed in Georgia, Alabama and Texas - three states that do not recognize Ohio's concealed handgun license.
What is a non-resident concealed carry license? Why would I want one?
A non-resident license is a license from a given state, offered to citizens who do not live in that state. For states that offer both resident and non-resident classes of licenses, this can be a factor in where those licenses are valid. Possession of a non-resident license generally allows legal carry in any state that recognizes a resident class license from the issuing state. However, this is not universally the case
. Some states will honor a another state's resident concealed handgun license, but will not honor its non-resident license. Careful selection of non-resident concealed handgun licenses can greatly expand the number of states in which you could legally carry your handgun, beyond the states already available with an Ohio CHL.